RedHawks Host Marshall to Open 2014 Season

Miami RedHawks (0-0, 0-0 MAC)
vs. Marshall Thundering Herd (0-0, 0-0 C-USA)
(WHITE OUT)

Game 1: Sat., Aug. 30 • 3:30 p.m.
Yager Stadium (24,286)
Oxford, Ohio
Series vs. Marshall: Miami Leads 30-11-1
Series Streak: Marshall - 2
Last Meeting: Aug. 31, 2013 (Marshall 52-14)
Television: ESPN3 • Shawn Kenney (PxP) and Rocky Boiman (Analyst)
Radio: Miami Sports Network • Steve Baker (PxP), Tim Bray (Analyst), Terry Bridge (sideline)
Live Stats: http://www.muredhawks.com

Miami Quick Hits
• The Miami University football team is in its 126th season of football and has an all-time record of 668-422-44 (.608).
• Miami finished the 2013 season with an 0-12 record, the first time that has happened in school history.
• In comes new head coach Chuck Martin. Martin spent the past four seasons at Notre Dame and was 74-7 as a head coach for Grand Valley State University from 2004-09.
• Martin brought nine new assistant coaches with him.
• The head coach also added three transfers from Notre Dame that can all play right away. Coming from South Bend are quarterback Andrew Hendrix, defensive back Lo Wood and tight end Alex Welch.
• Miami returns 12 starters from last season. Five return on... [Read the entire story]

MHT Headlines

Mon, June 16, 2014

Fri, May 16, 2014

Fri, May 2, 2014

Tue, April 22, 2014

Tue, April 1, 2014

Wed, March 19, 2014

Sat, March 15, 2014

Wed, February 5, 2014

Mon, December 16, 2013

Tue, December 3, 2013

Sat, November 9, 2013

Tue, November 5, 2013

Thu, August 1, 2013

Wed, July 24, 2013

Articles in this space are written by Miami Hawk Talk staff.

The News Wire

Submit a headline.

Sat, August 30, 2014

Fri, August 29, 2014

Thu, August 28, 2014

Wed, August 27, 2014

Tue, August 26, 2014

Sun, August 24, 2014

Sat, August 23, 2014

Fri, August 22, 2014

Thu, August 21, 2014

Wed, August 20, 2014

Tue, August 19, 2014

Mon, August 18, 2014

Sun, August 17, 2014

Sat, August 16, 2014

Fri, August 15, 2014

Thu, August 14, 2014

Tue, August 12, 2014

Fri, August 8, 2014

Thu, August 7, 2014

Wed, August 6, 2014

Tue, August 5, 2014

Mon, August 4, 2014

Sun, August 3, 2014

Links in this space are submitted directly by Miami Hawk Talk readers; Submit a headline today!

Hawk of the Week

Malarie Schmidt and Chris Heaton

Our new co-Hawks of the Week are women's senior swimmer Malarie Schmidt and men's senior diver Chris Heaton.  Both athletes set MAC and Miami records over the weekend at the Miami Invitational.

In racing to a second place finish, Malarie set a new Miami and Mid American Conference record in the 100 backstroke with a time of 55:07.  She also helped Miami's 400 medley relay team shatter another conference and school record with a winning time of 3:41.98.  Between individual and relay events, Malarie had five victories and one second place finish to help Miami win the Invitational by a whopping 943 points. 

Chris set a new MAC and Miami record in the three meter diving event with a total score of 406.85, shattering the old conference record by almost 50 points.  In addition to his winning performance in the three meter competition, Chris also finished second in the one meter event.  Overall, the men placed third at the event.

For the season, the women's team is 7-1, including 4-0 in the MAC while the men's team is 2-5.  Both teams next compete at a dual meet in mid-January against the University of Cincinnati.

Congratulations to Malarie and Chris on their outstanding meets and on being named our Hawk of the Week.

Hawk of the Week Archives

The Poll

How long has it been since we've had a new poll?

Donate to Miami Hawk Talk

donate with paypalMiamiHawkTalk.com is a labor of love, brought to you with minimal advertisements and no subscription costs. If you would like to help defray the cost of publishing MiamiHawkTalk.com, please feel free to click the link above to make a secure payment via PayPal.

Recruiting Headlines

New Database Additions

  • Men's Basketball: Charlie Byers, PG, Moeller High School, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: Lance Carter, 2G, Troy High School, Troy, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: Bryan Porter, 2G, Colerain High School, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: A.J. Hayes, PG, Kennedy High School, Taylor, Michigan
  • Men's Basketball: Cory Osetkowski, C, Canyon Crest Academy, San Diego, California
  • Men's Basketball: Richard Weaver, SF, Meadowdale High School, Dayton, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: Zac Carter, PG, Ironton High School, Ironton, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: Austin McMaster, SF, Chesapeake High Schoo, Proctorville, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: Vincent Edwards, PF, Middletown High School, Middletown, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: Zach McCormick, 2G, Turpin High School, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: Zac Showalter, 2G, Germantown High School, Germantown, Wisconsin
  • Men's Basketball: Alssane Kah, PF, Walnut Ridge High School, Columbus, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: D.J. Ballentine, PG, Kokomo South High School, Kokomo, Indiana
  • Men's Basketball: Jordan  Poydras, PG, De Pere High School, Osh Kosh, Wisconsin
  • Men's Basketball: Josh Lemons, PG, LaSalle High School, Cincinnati, Ohio

Most Recent Updates

  • Men's Basketball: Marquis Horne, SF, Princeton High School/Salt Lake C.C., Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: Zach McCormick, 2G, Turpin High School, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: Geovonie McKnight, 2G, Middletown High School, Middletown, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: Evan Bradds, SF, Greeneview High School, Jamestown, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: Griffin McKenzie, PF, Moeller High School, Loveland, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: Trey Lewis, PG, Garfield Heights High School, Garfield Heights, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: Alex Dragicevich, SF, Glenbrook High School, Northbrook, Illinois
  • Men's Basketball: Will Sullivan, 2G, York Township High School, Elmhurst, Illinois
  • Men's Basketball: Charlie Byers, PG, Moeller High School, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: Remy Ndiaye, SF, Lake Forest Academy/JUCO, Chicago
  • Men's Basketball: D.J. Ballentine, PG, Kokomo South High School, Kokomo, Indiana
  • Men's Basketball: Taylor Decker, C, Butler High School, Vandalia, Ohio
  • Men's Basketball: A.J. Hayes, PG, Kennedy High School, Taylor, Michigan
  • Men's Basketball: Cory Osetkowski, C, Canyon Crest Academy, San Diego, California
  • Men's Basketball: Monty Boykins, PG, Lakota West High School, West Chester, Ohio